The Overview of Indian Election System

Prime Minister is the head of the government. The members of the lower house of the parliament, the Lok Sabha Polls, elect the Prime Minister.

The president of India nominates two of the members of the Lok Sabha and rest are elected through general elections held every five years.

The Rajya Sabha is the upper house of the Indian parliament, the members of which are elected by the members of the legislative assemblies of states and Electoral College for Union Territories of India.

The Parliament comprises the head of state and the two Houses. An electoral college consisting of members of federal and state legislatures elect the President for a five-year term.

The Lok Sabha or the House of the People represents citizens of the country. The plurality electoral system is followed to elect the 550 members.

While the Council of States or the Rajya Sabha comprises of 245 members, 233 are elected for a six-year term, while one-third retire every two years. The members are elected indirectly with the votes of state legislators and union (federal) territories.

The system of proportional representation by means of the Single Transferable Vote is followed to choose the elected members.

The eligibility of an individual for voting is set by the Indian Constitution. A citizen of Indian above 18 years of age is eligible to enroll as a voter in the electoral rolls.


Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: